Directory of Contacts for Beef Cattle Production Issues

Animal Science

Burson, Dennis

Ph.D., Meat Extension & Food Safety Specialist

A213d Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6457

dburson1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Products
  • HCCP
  • Carcass Evaluation
  • Beef Cuts
  • Harvest Facility Management

Drewnoski, Mary

Ph.D., Beef Systems Specialist (Ruminant Nutrition)

C220f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6289

mdrewnoski2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Growing cattle nutrition (stocker/backgrounding)
  • Grazing/feeding alternative forages
  • Grazing/ feeding corn residues
  • Mineral nutrition
  • Incorporating cattle into cropping systems

Erickson, Galen

Ph.D., P.A.S., Beef Feedlot Extension Specialist (Ruminant Nutrition)

C220 Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6402

gerickson4@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Feedlot Nutrition
  • Feedlot Management
  • Nutrient Management
  • Ration Evaluation - Feedlot
  • By-product use in feedlot
  • By-product storage
  • Composting

Funston, Rick

Ph.D., P.A.S., Beef Cattle Reproductive Physiologist

West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751

308-696-6703

rfunston2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Reproductive Management
  • Estrous Synchronization Protocols
  • Heifer Development
  • Fetal Programming
  • Production Records

Jenkins, Karla

Ph.D., P.A.S., Range Mgt Cow/Calf Specialist

Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE
69361-4939

308-632-1245

kjenkins2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Protein Nutrition
  • Use of alternative feeds
  • Ration balancing
  • Forage intake
  • Grazing management
  • Feedlot or backgrounding

Mulliniks, Travis

Assistant Professor, Range Cow Production System Specialist

West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Nutrition x Reproduction Interaction
  • Heifer Development
  • Range Cow Nutrition
  • Ration Balancing
  • Grazing Management
  • Stocker/backgrounding nutrition

Spangler, Matt

Ph.D., Extension Beef Genetics Specialist

C204f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6489

mspangler2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Breeding Systems
  • Understand and application of indexes
  • Understand and application of EPDs
  • Genetic tools to decrease input costs
  • Understand and application of DNA Technology

Back to Top

Range, Pasture, and Forage Specialists

Anderson, Bruce

Ph.D., Extension Forage Specialist

314 Keim Hall
University of NE
Lincoln, NE 68583-0971

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6237

banderson1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Alfalfa
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification

Stephenson, Mitchell

Ph.D., Extension Range and Forage Specialist

Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361

308-632-1355

mstephenson@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Adaptive Grazing Management
  • Grazing Livestock Behavior
  • Livestock Distribution and Utilization Patterns
  • Plant-Herbivore Interactions
  • Timing of Grazing
  • Targeted Livestock Grazing
  • Rangeland Monitoring

Volesky, Jerry

Ph.D., Extension Range and Forage Specialist

West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm RD
North Platte, NE
69101-7751

308-696-6710

jvolesky1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Subirrigated Meadow Mgmt
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification

Back to Top

Veterinary Specialists

UNL GPVEC
PO Box 148
820 Rd 313
Clay Center, NE 68933-0148

402-762-4502

dgrotelueschen@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cattle Health Systems
  • Diagnostic Investigations
  • Bovine Viral Diarrhea
  • Neonatal Calf Diarrhea
  • Beef Quality Assurance

Vander Ley, Brian

DVM Epidemiologist, Great Plains Veterinary Education Center

UNL GPVEC
PO Box 148
820 Rd 313
Clay Center, NE 68933-0148

402-762-4503

bvanderley2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Epidemiology
  • Bovine Respiratory Disease
  • Developmental Programing
  • Preventative Health Measures

Back to Top

Entomology

Boxler, David

Entomology Extension Educator (Livestock)

UNL GPVEC
PO Box 148
820 Rd 313
Clay Center, NE 68933-0148

402-762-4502

dgrotelueschen@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cattle Health Systems
  • Diagnostic Investigations
  • Bovine Viral Diarrhea
  • Neonatal Calf Diarrhea
  • Beef Quality Assurance

Back to Top

Beef Educators

Arterburn, Jack

Educator

Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan, Sioux Counties

PO Box 329
105 Loofborrow St.
Rushville, NE 69360

308-327-2312

jack.arterburn@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Range Management
  • Range Monitoring
  • Grazing Systems

Beckman, Ben

Educator

Antelope, Cedar, Knox, Madison, Pierce Counties

101 E Centre St
PO Box 368
Hartington, NE 68739

402-254-6822

ben.beckman@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Grazing Systems
  • Weed Identification and Control
  • Range and Pasture Monitoring
  • Annual Forages/Cover Crops

Berger, Aaron

Educator

Kimball-Banner Counties
209 East Third Street
Kimball, NE 69145

Cheyenne County
920 Jackson Street, PO Box 356
Sidney, NE 69162

308-235-3122

aberger2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Range and Forage Management
  • Cow-calf/Stocker/Yearling Production Systems
  • Unit cost of production for cow/calf production
  • Breeding and Genetics

Eirich, Rob

Educator, Nebraska Director of Beef Quality Assurance

Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361

308-632-1230

reirich2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef quality assurance
  • Consumer confidence in the food supply

Howard, Larry

Educator

Cuming County

200 South Lincoln Street
West Point, NE 68788-0285

402-372-6006

lhoward1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Residue Grazing
  • Cow Costs

Johnston, Bethany

Educator

Central Sandhills Area

Box 148
Thedford, NE 69166

308-645-2267

bjohnston3@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cuts
  • Meat Science
  • Sandhills Plant ID
  • Range Monitoring and Condition
  • Range Management

Laborie, Erin

Educator

Furnas County

912 R Street
P.O. Box 367
Beaver City, NE 68926

308-268-3105

erin.laborie@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Stocker/backgrounding nutrition and management
  • Feedlot nutrition and management
  • Ration evaluation

Neimeyer, Steve

Educator

Garfield, Loup, Wheeler Counties

Box 638
Burwell, NE 68823

308-346-4200

sniemeyer1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cow Leases
  • Beef Cow Record Systems
  • Forages and Testing

Plugge, Brent

Educator

Buffalo County

1400 E 34th St
Kearney, NE 68847

308-236-1235

bplugge1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef nutrition using & storing distiller in a cow/calf operation
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Ration formulation using the NRC
  • Heifer Development

Saner, Randy

Educator

Lincoln-McPherson Counties

348 W State Farm Rd North Platte, NE 69101

308-532-2683
800-200-1381

rsaner2@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Nutrition & Forage Management
  • Reproduction and time AI
  • Business Management
  • Quality Assurance
  • Co-grazing using sheep, goats, and cattle together in a system

Schick, Brad

Webster County

621 N Cedar
Red Cloud, NE 68970

402-746-3417

brad.schick@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Range and Forage Management
  • Mixed/Interseeded Pasture Grazing Systems
  • Pasture Nutrient Cycling
  • Crop Residue Grazing

Stott, Jace

Asst. Extension Educator

BKR and Cherry Counties

148 W 4th St
Ainsworth, NE 69210

402-387-2213

jstott3@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Range Management
  • Grazing Management
  • Stocking Rates
  • Parasite Management

Treffer, Bruce

Educator

Dawson County

1002 Plum Creek Parkway
Lexington, NE 68850-0757

308-324-5501

btreffer1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Cow Calf Management
  • Beef Cattle Genetics

Ulmer, Kristen

Educator

Saunders County

1071 County Road G
Ithaca, NE 68033

402-624-8007

kristen.ulmer@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Crop Residue Grazing
  • Grazing Alternative Forages

Walz, Troy

Educator

Custer County

431 S 10th Ave
Broken Bow, NE 68822

308-872-6831

twalz1@unl.edu

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Pasture leasing considerations
  • Pricing supplements for beef cattle & ration balancing
  • Grazing strategies to reduce cost
  • Ration Development

Woolsoncroft, Mariah

Educator

Nance County

PO Box 130
Fullerton NE, 68638

Subject Matter Areas:
  • Ration Evaluation and Balancing
  • Feedlot Nutrition, Management, and Health
  • Forage and Ration Testing