Find a Faculty Expert

Directory of Contacts for Beef Cattle Production Issues

 

  • Animal Science

  • Range, Pasture, and Forage Specialist

  • Veterinary Specialist

  • Entomology

  • Beef Spires Team

Animal Science
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Burson, Dennis
Ph.D.
Meat Extension & Food Safety Specialist
A213d Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)
402-472-6457 dburson1@unl.edu
  • Beef Products
  • HCCP
  • Carcass Evaluation
  • Beef Cuts
  • Harvest Facility Management
Drewnoski, Mary
Ph.D.
Beef Systems Specialist
(Ruminant Nutrition)
C220f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6289 mdrewnoski2@unl.edu
  • Growing cattle nutrition (stocker/backgrounding)
  • Grazing/feeding alternative forages
  • Grazing/ feeding corn residues
  • Mineral nutrition
  • Incorporating cattle into cropping systems
Erickson, Galen
Ph.D., P.A.S.
Beef Feedlot Extension Specialist
(Ruminant Nutrition)
C220 Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)
402-472-6402 gerickson4@unl.edu
  • Feedlot Nutrition
  • Feedlot Management
  • Nutrient Management
  • Ration Evaluation - Feedlot
  • By-product use in feedlot
  • By-product storage
  • Composting
Funston, Rick
Ph.D., P.A.S.
Beef Cattle Reproductive Physiologist
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308-696-6703 rfunston2@unl.edu
  • Reproductive Management
  • Estrous Synchronization Protocols
  • Heifer Development
  • Fetal Programming
  • Production Records
Jenkins, Karla
Ph.D., P.A.S.
Range Mgt Cow/Calf Specialist
Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE
69361-4939
308-632-1245 kjenkins2@unl.edu
  • Protein Nutrition
  • Use of alternative feeds
  • Ration balancing
  • Forage intake
  • Grazing management
  • Feedlot or backgrounding
Luebbe, Matt
Ph.D., P.A.S.
Feedlot Nutrition and Management Specialist
Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE
69361-4939
308-632-1397 mluebbe2@unl.edu
  • Ration evaluation - feedlot
  • Feedlot management and nutrition
  • By-products in feedlot diets
  • By-product storage
  • Feedlot records
Spangler, Matt
Ph.D.
Extension Beef Genetics Specialist
C204f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)
402-472-6489 mspangler2@unl.edu
  • Breeding Systems
  • Understand and application of indexes
  • Understand and application of EPDs
  • Genetic tools to decrease input costs
  • Understand and application of DNA Technology

 Return to Top

 

Range, Pasture, and Forage Specialist
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Anderson, Bruce
Ph.D
Extension Forage Specialist
314 Keim Hall
University of NE
Lincoln, NE 68583-0971

(UNL East Campus)
402-472-6237 banderson1@unl.edu
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Alfalfa
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification
Volesky, Jerry
Ph.D
Extension Range and Forage Specialist
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm RD
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308-696-6710 jvolesky1@unl.edu
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Subirrigated Meadow Mgmt
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification

 Return to Top

 

Veterinary Specialist
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Randle, Richard
DVM
Extension Beef Cattle Veterinarian
(Beef cow/calf production management)
107 VBS
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0905

(UNL East Campus)
402-472-0446 rrandle2@unl.edu
  • Health aspects and well being
  • Systematic approach to herd health
  • Vaccination strategies
  • Management practices to reduce incidence of disease
  • Biosecurity
  • Quality assurance
  • Parasite control

 Return to Top

 

Entomology
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Boxler, David
Entomology Extension Educator
(Livestock)
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308-696-6721 dboxler1@unl.edu
  • Fly Control

 Return to Top

 

Beef Spires Team
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Bauer, Dennis
Educator
BKR Unit
148 W 4th Street
Ainsworth  69210
402-387-2213
800-634-8951
402-760-1549
dbauer1@unl.edu
  • Mineral Nutrition (research review & customize mineral mixes)
  • Interseeding methods for grasses & legumes
  • Distillers grain storage
  • Feeding corn co-products
  • Beef Products
Berger, Aaron
Educator
Kimball-Banner Counties
209 East Third Street
Kimball  69145
Cheyenne County
920 Jackson Street, PO Box 356
Sidney 69162
308-235-3122 aberger2@unl.edu
  • Range and Forage Management
  • Cow-calf/Stocker/Yearling Production Systems
  • Unit cost of production for cow/calf production
  • Breeding and Genetics
Howard, Larry
Educator
Cuming County
200 South Lincoln Street
West Point  68788-0285
402-372-6006 lhoward1@unl.edu
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Residue Grazing
  • Cow Costs
Jenkins, Jay
Educator
Cherry County
132 S. Hall St. Suite 1
Valentine  69201
402-376-1850
800-657-2188
jjenkins2@unl.edu
  • EPDs - Cattle selection, Crossbreeding, etc.
  • Cost of Production
  • Rangeland Monitoring; Weed Control
  • Decision Support Tools
  • Record Keeping Software
  • Partial Budgeting
  • Lease Agreements
Johnston, Bethany
Educator
Central Sandhills Area
Box 148
Thedford 69166
308-645-2267 bjohnston3@unl.edu
  • Beef Cuts
  • Meat Science
  • Sandhills Plant ID
  • Range Monitoring and Condition
  • Range Management
Laborie, Erin
Educator
Furnas County
912 R Street
P.O. Box 367
Beaver City  68926
419-494-3872 erin.laborie@unl.edu
  • Stocker/backgrounding nutrition and management
  • Feedlot nutrition and management
  • Ration evaluation
Lienemann, Dewey
Educator
Webster County
621 N Cedar
Red Cloud  68970-2397
402-746-3417 dlienemann1@unl.edu
  • Cow Calf Management
  • Range & Pasture Weed Control
  • Cow Costs
Neimeyer, Steve
Educator
Garfield, Loup, Wheeler Counties
Box 638
Burwell  68823
308-346-4200 sniemeyer1@unl.edu
  • Beef Cow Leases
  • Beef Cow Record Systems
  • Forages and Testing
Plugge, Brent
Educator
Buffalo County
1400 E 34th St
Kearney  68847
308-236-1235 bplugge1@unl.edu
  • Beef nutrition using & storing distiller in a cow/calf operation
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Ration formulation using the NRC
  • Heifer Development
Saner, Randy
Educator
Lincoln-McPherson Counties
348 W State Farm Rd
North Platte  69101
308-532-2683
800-200-1381
rsaner2@unl.edu
  • Nutrition & Forage Management
  • Reproduction and time AI
  • Business Management
  • Quality Assurance
  • Co-grazing using sheep, goats, and cattle together in a system
Stauffer, Gary
Educator
Holt County
128 N. 6th St, Suite 100
O'Neill  68763
402-336-2760 gstauffer1@unl.edu
  • Cow Management
  • Leafy Spurge Management and Control
  • Pasture Leases--Pitfalls and Problems
  • Grazing Strategies to Reduce Cost
  • By-Products for Cows
Tonn, Steve
Educator
Washington County
597 Grant St, Suite 200
Blair  68008
402-426-9455 stonn2@unl.edu
  • Condition Scoring Beef Cows
  • Ration development
Treffer, Bruce
Educator
Dawson County
1002 Plum Creek Parkway
Lexington  68850-0757
308-324-5501 btreffer1@unl.edu
  • Cow Calf Management
  • Beef Cattle Genetics
Walz, Troy
Educator
Custer County
431 S 10th Ave
Broken Bow  68822
308-872-6831 twalz1@unl.edu
  • Pasture leasing considerations
  • Pricing supplements for beef cattle & ration balancing
  • Grazing strategies to reduce cost
  • Ration Development

 Return to Top