Directory of Contacts for Beef Cattle Production Issues

  • Animal Science

  • Range, Pasture, and Forage Specialist

  • Veterinary Specialist

  • Entomology

  • Beef Spires Team

Animal Science
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Burson, Dennis
Ph.D.
Meats

A213d Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-6457 dburson1@unl.edu
  • Beef Products
  • HCCP
  • Carcass Evaluation
  • Beef Cuts
  • Harvest Facility Management
Erickson, Galen
Ph.D. PAS
Ruminant Nutrition
C220 Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-6402 gerickson4@uinl.edu
  • Feedlot Nutrition
  • Feedlot Management
  • Nutrient Management
  • Ration Evaluation - Feedlot
  • By-product use in feedlot
  • By-product storage
  • Composting
Funston, Rick
Ph.D. PAS
Reproduction
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308/696-6703 rfunston2@unl.edu
  • Reproductive Management
  • Estrous Synchronization Protocols
  • Heifer Development
  • Fetal Programming
  • Production Records
Jenkins, Karla
Ph.D., P.A.S.
Ruminant Nutrition
Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE
69361-4939
308/632-1245 kjenkins2@unl.edu
  • Protein Nutrition
  • Use of alternative feeds
  • Ration balancing
  • Forage intake
  • Grazing management
  • Feedlot or backgrounding
Luebbe, Matt
Ph.D. PAS
Ruminant Nutrition
Panhandle Research and Extension Center
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE
69361-4939
308/632-1397 mluebbe2@unl.edu
  • Ration evaluation - feedlot
  • Feedlot management and nutrition
  • By-products in feedlot diets
  • By-product storage
  • Feedlot records
Rasby, Rick
Ph.D. PAS
Reproduction Nutrition Management
C204c Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-6477 rrasby1@unl.edu
  • Beef Cow and Heifer Nutrition
  • Cow/calf Records
  • Managing the Post-Partum Interval
  • Understanding Forage Analysis and Use
  • Cornstalk Grazing
  • Feeding and Storing By-products
  • Ration Evaluation - Cow calf and Backgrounding
  • Body Condition Scoring Cows
Spangler, Matt
Ph.D.
Breeding & Genetics
C204f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-6489 mspangler2@unl.edu
  • Breeding Systems
  • Understand and application of indexes
  • Understand and application of EPDs
  • Genetic tools to decrease input costs
  • Understand and application of DNA Technology
Stalker, Aaron
Ph.D.
Ruminant Nutrition
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308/696-6707 astalker3@unl.edu
  • Livestock Nutrition
  • Distillers Grains use and storage
  • Ration Formulation
  • Beef Systems

 

 

 

Range, Pasture, and Forage Specialist
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Anderson, Bruce
Ph.D
Range & Forage - Specialist
58A Filley Hall
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0971

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-6362 banderson1@unl.edu
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Alfalfa
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification
Drewnoski, Mary
Ph.D.

Ruminant Nutrition
C220f Animal Science Bldg
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0908

(UNL East Campus)

402-472-6289 mdrewnoski2@unl.edu
  • Growing cattle nutrition (stocker/backgrounding)
  • Grazing/feeding alternative forages
  • Grazing/ feeding corn residues
  • Mineral nutrition
  • Incorporating cattle into cropping systems
Volesky, Jerry
Ph.D
Range & Forage - Specialist
West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm RD
North Platte, NE
69101-7751
308/696-6710 jvolesky1@unl.edu
  • Balancing Forage Supply & Demand
  • Irrigated Pasture
  • Annual Forages
  • Principles of Grazing Mgmt
  • Subirrigated Meadow Mgmt
  • Drought & Rangelands
  • Winter Grazing Strategies
  • Prescribed burning
  • Plant growth, Morphology & Identification

 

 

Veterinary Specialist
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Griffin, Dee
DVM
Herd Health

Great Plains Veterinary Educational Center
Box 148 State Spur 18D
Clay Center, 68933

402/762-4500 dgriffin2@unl.edu
  • Health management cow/calf, yearly, feedlot
  • Vaccinations
  • Parasite protocols in heifer development
  • Beef Quality Assurance
Randle, Richard
DVM
Herd Health
107 VBS
University of NE
Lincoln, NE
68583-0905

(UNL East Campus)

402/472-0446 rrandle2@unl.edu
  • Health aspects and well being
  • Systematic approach to herd health
  • Vaccination strategies
  • Management practices to reduce incidence of disease
  • Biosecurity
  • Quality assurance
  • Parasite control

 

 

Entomology
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Boxler, David

Entomology

West Central Research and Extension Center
402 W State Farm Rd
North Platte, NE
69101-7751

308/696-6721 dboxler1@unl.edu
  • Fly Control

 

Beef Spires Team
Name/title Address Telephone Email Subject Matter Areas
Andersen, Doug
Educator

Keith/Arthur/Perkins Counties
511 N Spruce RM 203
Ogallala  69153

308/284-6051 danderson5@unl.edu
  • Range Management
  • Grazing Systems
  • Forages
Bauer, Dennis
Educator
BKR Unit
148 W 4th Street
Ainsworth  69210
402/387-2213
800/634-8951
402/760-1549
dbauer1@unl.edu
  • Mineral Nutrition
    Research review & customize mineral mixes.
  • Interseeding methods for grasses & legumes
  • Distillers grain storage
  • Feeding corn co-products
  • Beef Products
Berger, Aaron
Educator
Kimball-Banner- Cheyenne Counties
209 E 3rd
Kimball  69145
308/235-3122 aberger2@unl.edu
  • Range and Forage Management
  • Cow-calf/Stocker/Yearling Production Systems
  • Unit cost of production for cow/calf production
  • Breeding and Genetics
Chichester, Lindsay
Ph.D. & Educator
1071 County Road G, Room B
Ithaca, NE 68033-2234
402/624-8007 lchichester2@unl.edu
  • Ag communications
  • Crisis Communications
  • Ag Advocacy
  • Current Issues in the Ag Industry
Holman, Tom
Educator
Scotts Bluff - Merrill Counties
514 Main St
Bridgeport  69336
308/262-1022 tholman1@unl.edu
  • Various Economics Topics
  • Marketing
  • Land Values
  • Feed Costs
Jenkins, Jay
Educator
Cherry County
132 S. Hall St. Suite 1
Valentine  69201
402/376-1850
800/657-2188
jjenkins2@unl.edu
  • EPD's - Cattle selection, Crossbreeding, etc.
  • Cost of Production
  • Rangeland Monitoring; Weed Control
  • Decision Support Tools
  • Record Keeping Software
  • Partial Budgeting
  • Lease Agreements
Johnston, Bethany
Educator
Central Sandhills Area
Box 148
Thedford  69166
308/645-2267 bsitz2@unl.edu
  • Beef Cuts
  • Meat Science
  • Sandhills Plant Id
  • Range Monitoring and Condition
  • Range Management
Jones, Jessica
Educator
Johnson County
Box 779
Tecumseh  68450
402/335-3669 jjones12@unl.edu
  • Pasture/Range monitoring
  • Grazing systems
  • Beef Value Cuts
  • Farm/Ranch Planning
  • Writing a lease
Howard, Larry
Educator
Cuming County
200 South Lincoln Street
West Point  68788-0285
402/372-6006 lhoward1@unl.edu
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Residue Grazing
  • Cow Costs
Lemmons, Tim
Educator
Northeast Research and Extension Center
601 E Benjamin Ave Suite 104
Norfolk  68701
402/370-4061 tlemmons2@unl.edu
  • Pasture rental rates
  • Cow Leasing
  • Passing on the ranch to the next generation
Lienemann, Dewey
Educator
Webster County
621 N Cedar
Red Cloud  68970-2397
402/746-3417 dlienemann1@unl.edu
  • Cow Calf Management
  • Range & Pasture Weed Control
  • Cow Costs
Mues, Noel
Educator
Furnas County
912 R Street
P.O. Box 367
Beaver City  68926-0367
308/268-3105 nmues1@unl.edu
  • International Beef Marketing
  • Range & Pasture Weed Control
  • What's available in Beef Home Study
Neimeyer, Steve
Educator
Garfield, Loup, Wheeler Counties
Box 638
Burwell  68823
308/346-4200 sniemeyer1@unl.edu
  • Beef Cow Leases
  • Beef Cow Record Systems
  • Forages and Testing
Plugge, Brent
Educator
Buffalo County
1400 E 34th St
Kearney  68847
308/236-1235 bplugge1@unl.edu
  • Beef nutrition using & storing distiller in a cow/calf operation
  • Beef Cow Management
  • Ration formulation using the NRC
  • Heifer Development
Pritchard, Steve
Educator
Boone / Nance Counties
222 S 4th, Albion  68620-1247
209 Ester St., Fullerton  68638-0130
402/395-2158
308/536-2691
spritchard1@unl.edu
  • Value added Beef Cuts - chuck roll cutting demonstrations
  • Culling Strategies
  • Heifer development
Saner, Randy
Educator
Lincoln-McPherson Counties
348 W State Farm Rd
North Platte  69101
308/532-2683
800/200-1381
rsaner2@unl.edu
  • Nutrition & Forage Management
  • Reproduction and time AI
  • Business Management
  • Quality Assurance
  • Co-grazing using sheep, goats, and cattle together in a system
Stauffer, Gary
Educator
Holt County
128 N. 6th St, Suite 100
O'Neill  68763
402-336-2760 gstauffer1@unl.edu
  • Cow Management
  • Leafy Spurge Management and Control
  • Pasture Leases--Pitfalls and Problems
  • Grazing Strategies to Reduce Cost
  • By-Products for Cows
Tonn, Steve
Educator
Washington County
597 Grant St, Suite 200
Blair  68008
402/426-9455 stonn2@unl.edu
  • Condition Scoring Beef Cows
  • Ration development
Treffer, Bruce
Educator
Dawson County
1002 Plum Creek Parkway
Lexington  68850-0757
308/324-5501 btreffer1@unl.edu
  • Cow Calf Management
  • Beef Cattle Genetics
Walz, Troy
Educator
Custer County
431 S 10th Ave
Broken Bow  68822
308/872-6831 twalz1@unl.edu
  • Pasture leasing considerations
  • Pricing supplements for beef cattle & ration balancing
  • Grazing strategies to reduce cost
  • Ration Development